Yulandi's pilgrimage

Experiencing life and teaching what I know.

Perseverance

The Ultimate Rejection Letter

Herbert A. Millington

Chair – Search Committee

412A Clarkson Hall, Whitson University

College Hill, MA 34109 Dear Professor Millington,

Thank you for your letter of March 16. After careful consideration, I regret to inform you that I am unable to accept your refusal to offer me an assistant professor position in your department.

This year I have been particularly fortunate in receiving an unusually large number of rejection letters. With such a varied and promising field of candidates, it is impossible for me to accept all refusals.

Despite Whitson’s outstanding qualifications and previous experience in rejecting applicants, I find that your rejection does not meet my needs at this time. Therefore, I will assume the position of assistant professor in your department this August. I look forward to seeing you then.

Best of luck in rejecting future applicants.

Sincerely, Chris L. Jensen

Disclosure

The above joke seems a little off.

But…

This is the kind of determination we need in education. There is so much in South African education that can break the spirit of educators today. The question is, is it just another job to you? Is this a way for you to make money and have four vacations a year? If you answered yes I suggest you get out, while the going is still good.

Education was never and will never be about the money. Most teachers are in it for the job satisfaction and the difference they can make in their students lives.

It’s twenty odd years ago since I was in school. To this day I remember my History teacher. The values he taught. Time and again he tried to get the most out of each learner by being provocative in his statements and views.

We sure did not sit in his class like puppets being spoon fed. No he taught us the value of each person. How important it is to be the best grown up you can be and then bring forth an even better generation.

This one, is for you Mr. Booysen.

I say thank you!

3 Comments»

  Eugene Brown wrote @

Inspiring. Thank you.

  » Perseverance wrote @

[…] This is the kind of determination we need in education . More […]

  Melanie wrote @

He he ! You got it! This is a brilliant blog!;)


Leave a Reply

